Internet Hall of Fame

Voiced by Amazon Polly

Do you know of someone who has made the Internet better in some way who deserves more recognition? Maybe someone who has helped extend Internet access to a large region? Or wrote widely-used programs that make the Internet more secure? Or maybe someone who has been actively working for open standards and open processes for the Internet?

Each year the Internet Society awards the Jonathan B. Postel Service Award to an individual or an organization that has made outstanding contributions in service to the Internet community.

Some of the recent winners include (see the full list):

  • 2018 – Steven G Huter
  • 2017 – Kimberly C. Claffy
  • 2016 – Kanchana Kanchanasut
  • 2015 – Rob Blokzijl
  • 2014 – Mahabir Pun
  • 2013 – Elizabeth “Jake” Feinler
  • 2012 – Pierre Ouedraogo
  • 2011 – Professor Kilnam Chon
  • 2010 – Dr. Jianping Wu
  • 2009 – CSNET
  • 2008 – La Fundación Escuela Latinoamericana de Redes (EsLaRed)
  • 2007 – Dr Nii Quaynor

The deadline for nominations for the 2019 Postel Service Award is this coming Wednesday, May 15. The award is both a presentation crystal and a $20,000 USD prize. The award will be presented at the 105th meeting of the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) in Montreal, Canada, in July 2019.

To complete the nomination form (including for yourself), you need the following:

  • ​The nominee’s contact information.
  • ​The nominee’s resume/curriculum vitae.
  • A statement of recommendation​ — A brief statement that includes specific acts, works, contributions, and other criteria that show how the candidate exemplifies the standard set by Jon Postel. It should be clear from this statement that the candidate has performed in this manner consistently and over a long period of time, not simply that the candidate has done several significant things in the area of data communications and the Internet.
  • Two references — Names, email addresses and phone numbers for at least two people who will support your recommendation.

The Postel Service Award provides a great opportunity to recognize people who have made the Internet better is some way. Please consider nominating someone you know before Wednesday’s deadline!
By Dan York, Author and Speaker on Internet technologies – and on staff of Internet Society Dan is employed as a Senior Content Strategist with the Internet Society but opinions posted on CircleID are entirely his own. Visit the blog maintained by Dan York hereVisit Page

Leave a Reply